Fellowship locations › North America › Echocardiography fellowship in North America

Echocardiography fellowship in North America

Transthoracic, transesophageal, 3D and intraprocedural imaging. Compare source-linked training in 2 countries in North America. Countries are based on recorded host locations; shared international schemes remain in their own listings.

22 programme & host profiles. Published information may describe an earlier cycle; confirm availability with the official source.

At a glance

22 programme or host profiles across 21 institutions, covering 1 subspecialty: Echocardiography (22).

Source-reported durations include 1 year (header lists 1-2 years), 1-2 years, 1 year and 12-24 months. 15 of 22 record a deadline or intake note, 10 describe funding and 2 state that international applicants are accepted. Recorded application signals: 1 rolling and 1 closed. These are source statements for earlier or current cycles, so confirm each detail on the official page.

Countries in North America

Other subspecialties in North America

Institutions

Compare recorded application requirements

Open a profile below to compare its recorded eligibility, funding, visa and intake information. Each statement keeps its programme scope; a historical date is not a new application cycle. A field marked not stated needs confirmation from the host.

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre - Cardiac Imaging Fellowship · Toronto
Eligibility
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Funding
Conference attendance support is stated when presenting original research; a salary or base stipend amount is not stated.
Visa and sponsorship
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Deadline or intake note
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
How to apply
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Full programme and field-level sources · Official source ↗
University Health Network (Toronto General) - Adult Echocardiography Fellowship · Toronto
Eligibility
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Funding
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Visa and sponsorship
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Deadline or intake note
August 1 in the year before the July start (recurring date).
How to apply
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Full programme and field-level sources · Official source ↗
Columbia University Irving Medical Center - Advanced Echocardiography Fellowship · New York
Eligibility
Completed an ACGME-accredited cardiology fellowship and achieved level II echocardiography training.
Funding
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Visa and sponsorship
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Deadline or intake note
Rolling
How to apply
Direct application: send CV, cover letter and two letters of recommendation to the programme director.
Full programme and field-level sources · Official source ↗
Columbia University Irving Medical Center - Advanced Structural Echocardiography Imaging Fellowship · New York
Eligibility
Strong preference for applicants who will achieve level II echocardiography training by the end of general cardiology fellowship.
Funding
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Visa and sponsorship
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Deadline or intake note
June 30 for the stated 2025 academic-year application window (historical).
How to apply
Complete the advanced fellowship programme application form and submit it to the fellowship coordinator with supporting materials (including level of echo training to be achieved).
Full programme and field-level sources · Official source ↗
Mayo Clinic Arizona - Echocardiology Fellowship · Arizona
Eligibility
Completed three years of cardiovascular training.
Funding
Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education institution-wide scale, effective March 11, 2026: USD 75,105–106,096 annual equivalents across graduate levels 1–10; level 7 is USD 95,417. The assigned graduate level determines pay; no programme-specific level is asserted. Benefits apply to appointments of at least one year.
Visa and sponsorship
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Deadline or intake note
No later than February for a July start (recurring; no specific day published).
How to apply
Apply through Recruit; no matching service is used.
Full programme and field-level sources · Official source ↗
Mount Sinai Hospital - Structural Heart Interventions Imaging Fellowship · New York
Eligibility
Complete a cardiology fellowship before applying. Additional cardiovascular imaging training is preferred but not required.
Funding
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Visa and sponsorship
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Deadline or intake note
September 1 (year not given; for July 1, 2027 start)
How to apply
Email the application form, CV, personal statement, three recommendation letters (including the Echo Lab Director), relevant ECFMG/USMLE certification, publications and a procedure log signed by the Echo Lab Director to Maria Directo. The page advertises a July 1, 2027 start and September 1 deadline without a deadline year. Confirm cycle availability.
Full programme and field-level sources · Official source ↗
McGill University - Jewish General Hospital · Montreal
Eligibility
McGill PGME institutional requirements: completed residency and Royal College/Board specialty certification; medical school listed in the World Directory; specialist recognition in Canada or abroad and eligibility for a Québec training card. Programme-specific prerequisites also apply.
Funding
McGill PGME requires a non-profit-source scholarship of at least CAD 61,000 per year, plus tuition and student-services fees. Self-funding is refused. Some programmes offer internal support, but this is not a guaranteed salary for this fellowship.
Visa and sponsorship
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Deadline or intake note
September 1, 2026 for academic year 2027–2028 under the general McGill PGME fellowship timetable (opening May 15, 2026; now past).
How to apply
Apply through the McGill PGME online portal; maximum two programme choices. Québec-trained applicants and candidates under sponsorship agreements have separate application routes.
Full programme and field-level sources · Official source ↗
McGill University Health Centre · Montreal
Eligibility
McGill PGME institutional requirements: completed residency and Royal College/Board specialty certification; medical school listed in the World Directory; specialist recognition in Canada or abroad and eligibility for a Québec training card. Programme-specific prerequisites also apply.
Funding
McGill PGME requires a non-profit-source scholarship of at least CAD 61,000 per year, plus tuition and student-services fees. Self-funding is refused. Some programmes offer internal support, but this is not a guaranteed salary for this fellowship.
Visa and sponsorship
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Deadline or intake note
September 1, 2026 for academic year 2027–2028 under the general McGill PGME fellowship timetable (opening May 15, 2026; now past).
How to apply
Apply through the McGill PGME online portal; maximum two programme choices. Québec-trained applicants and candidates under sponsorship agreements have separate application routes.
Full programme and field-level sources · Official source ↗
University of Calgary (Libin Cardiovascular Institute) · Calgary
Eligibility
Completed three years of core cardiology training in a recognised Canadian institution or equivalent.
Funding
The published funding model requires four weeks of clinical service on a fee-for-service basis; no stipend amount is stated.
Visa and sponsorship
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Deadline or intake note
December 1 (recurring application date; intake year not specified).
How to apply
Submit CV, one-page statement of interest and three references to Dr. Nita Guron.
Full programme and field-level sources · Official source ↗
University of Alberta Hospital / Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute · Edmonton
Eligibility
The CSE registry last updated September 30, 2020 describes completed clinical cardiology training, eligibility for educational/practice licensure in Canada and interest in an academic echo career. Current shared application instructions also require applicable English-language proof. Confirm present CPSA/PGME requirements rather than assuming a funding source waives licensing.
Funding
Shared cardiology policy asks applicants to declare funding status and recommends CAD 60,000/year as a minimum salary; this is not an individual award guarantee. Trainees without their own institutional funding may provide ECG, ward and daytime emergency consultation service to offset salary. The stated limited competitive international funding applies specifically to heart failure/transplant, not automatically to echo. Confirm the echo funding package and licensure requirements.
Visa and sponsorship
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Deadline or intake note
The echo page explicitly lists November 30, 2026 for a July 1, 2028 start. The shared application page still labels echo full for July 2027 and gives yearless November 30/March 31 conditions. Confirm which closing date and application form govern the 2028 intake.
How to apply
The shared cardiology instructions request a single email of PDF documents to cardiology.fellowships@ualberta.ca: the applicable application form, career-goals cover letter, CV, three references and proof of English proficiency where required. References may email letters separately. Because the echo page advertises July 2028 while shared instructions retain filled-2027 and yearless dates, confirm the correct form and closing date with the office.
Full programme and field-level sources · Official source ↗
Royal Jubilee Hospital (University of British Columbia) · Victoria
Eligibility
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Funding
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Visa and sponsorship
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Deadline or intake note
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
How to apply
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Full programme and field-level sources · Official source ↗
St. Paul's Hospital (University of British Columbia) · Vancouver
Eligibility
The CSE registry last updated August 25, 2017 lists completed Canadian cardiology training or equivalent. These are historical published prerequisites; present programme and provincial licensing requirements must be confirmed.
Funding
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Visa and sponsorship
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
Deadline or intake note
Not stated in the compiled sources. Confirm with the programme.
How to apply
The UBC division’s current subspecialty page lists Gnalini Sathananthan (gnalini.sathananthan@phc.ca) for enquiries about the SPH AFC Adult Echocardiography programme. This contact does not establish an open position or a closing date.
Full programme and field-level sources · Official source ↗

Showing the first 12 profiles; the programme cards below link to every remaining profile.

Programme and host profiles

ClinicalIntake not confirmed
Echocardiography
Official training-provider mark · Mayo Clinic Arizona

Mayo Clinic Arizona - Echocardiology Fellowship

Arizona · United States
Portrait of Hari Chaliki
Programme directorHari Chaliki
Duration
1 year
Deadline
No later than February for a July start (recurring; no specific day published).
Funding
Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education institution-wide scale, effective March 11, 2026: USD 75,105–106,096 annual equivalents across graduate levels 1–10; level 7 is USD 95,417. The assigned graduate level determines pay; no programme-specific level is asserted. Benefits apply to appointments of at least one year.
ClinicalIntake not confirmed
Echocardiography
Official training-provider mark · McGill University

McGill University - Jewish General Hospital

Montreal · Canada
Portrait of Igal Sebag
Programme leadIgal Sebag
Duration
1 year
Deadline
September 1, 2026 for academic year 2027–2028 under the general McGill PGME fellowship timetable (opening May 15, 2026; now past).
Funding
McGill PGME requires a non-profit-source scholarship of at least CAD 61,000 per year, plus tuition and student-services fees. Self-funding is refused. Some programmes offer internal support, but this is not a guaranteed salary for this fellowship.
ClinicalClosed
Echocardiography
Official training-provider mark · McGill University Health Centre

McGill University Health Centre

Montreal · Canada
Portrait of Francois Tournoux
Programme leadFrancois Tournoux
Duration
1 year
Deadline
September 1, 2026 for academic year 2027–2028 under the general McGill PGME fellowship timetable (opening May 15, 2026; now past).
Funding
McGill PGME requires a non-profit-source scholarship of at least CAD 61,000 per year, plus tuition and student-services fees. Self-funding is refused. Some programmes offer internal support, but this is not a guaranteed salary for this fellowship.
ClinicalIntake not confirmed
Echocardiography
Official training-provider mark · University of Alberta

University of Alberta Hospital / Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute

Edmonton · Canada
Portrait of Miriam Shanks
Programme leadMiriam Shanks
Duration
12-24 months
Deadline
The echo page explicitly lists November 30, 2026 for a July 1, 2028 start. The shared application page still labels echo full for July 2027 and gives yearless November 30/March 31 conditions. Confirm which closing date and application form govern the 2028 intake.
Funding
Shared cardiology policy asks applicants to declare funding status and recommends CAD 60,000/year as a minimum salary; this is not an individual award guarantee. Trainees without their own institutional funding may provide ECG, ward and daytime emergency consultation service to offset salary. The stated limited competitive international funding applies specifically to heart failure/transplant, not automatically to echo. Confirm the echo funding package and licensure requirements.
ClinicalIntake not confirmed
Echocardiography
Official training-provider mark · St. Boniface General Hospital

St. Boniface General Hospital (University of Manitoba)

Winnipeg · Canada
Portrait of Davinder S. Jassal
Programme leadDavinder S. Jassal
Duration
8-12 months
Deadline
The CSE registry dated August 25, 2017 proposes a July 1 start without a year. This is a historical start-date statement, not an application closing date or a verified future intake.
Funding
Self-funding is listed as a prerequisite in the CSE registry last updated August 25, 2017. No current salary, stipend amount or funding arrangement is verified.
ClinicalIntake not confirmed
Echocardiography
Official training-provider mark · Kingston General Hospital

Kingston General Hospital (Queen's University)

Kingston · Canada
Duration
1 year
Deadline
The page lists the 2028–2029 intake as accepting applications and normally asks for materials at least 18 months before the intended start. Its example is January 1 of the preceding year for a July start. Confirm the applicable deadline; no exact 2028–2029 closing date is stated.
Funding
The programme describes a competitive salary with health, dental and vision benefits and travel allowances, without an amount. International applicants are given separate instructions depending on whether they have an external funding source.

Application information recorded in North America

This table shows which application details are recorded for each profile and which are not stated in the compiled sources. A field that is not stated is unknown, not refused or waived, so ask the programme before you rely on it.

ProfileRecordedNot stated
Echocardiography
Clinical · Toronto
duration, funding, positionsdeadline, eligibility, visa, international applicants, application route
Echocardiography
Clinical · Toronto
duration, deadline, positionsfunding, eligibility, visa, international applicants, application route
Echocardiography
Clinical · New York
duration, deadline, eligibility, positions, application routefunding, visa, international applicants
Echocardiography
Clinical · New York
duration, deadline, eligibility, positions, application routefunding, visa, international applicants
Echocardiography
Clinical · Arizona
duration, funding, deadline, eligibility, positions, application routevisa, international applicants
Echocardiography
Clinical · New York
duration, deadline, eligibility, application routefunding, visa, international applicants, positions
Echocardiography
Clinical · Montreal
duration, funding, deadline, eligibility, positions, application routevisa, international applicants
Echocardiography
Clinical · Montreal
duration, funding, deadline, eligibility, positions, application routevisa, international applicants
Echocardiography
Clinical · Calgary
duration, funding, deadline, eligibility, positions, application routevisa, international applicants
Echocardiography
Clinical · Edmonton
duration, funding, deadline, eligibility, international applicants, positions, application routevisa
Echocardiography
Clinical · Victoria
duration, positionsfunding, deadline, eligibility, visa, international applicants, application route
Echocardiography
Clinical · Vancouver
duration, eligibility, positions, application routefunding, deadline, visa, international applicants

Showing 12 of 22 profiles.